Kőszeg, one of Hungary’s most atmospheric small towns is also called the jewellry box of Western Hungary. Read our article and have a look at the photos to get to know more about the charming town of Kőszeg!
The gate tower was built in eclectic style in 1932, on the 400th anniversary of the Turkish siege. However, the Heroes’ Gate was demolished in 1880. In its place, they built the Lower Gate Towe in the 14th century. The old tower was the most important object of the city’s defense system and the downtown traffic. Today, the Tower of Heroes is home to a museum.
Jurisics Castle is the largest monument complex in Kőszeg. Its late Gothic and early Renaissance corridor is one of the most beautiful heritages of Hungarian castle architecture. It suffered its most well-known siege in 1532 from the large Turkish fleet of Sultan Süleymán. In the courtyard stands the statue of Miklós Jurisics – the captain of the castle during the Turkish siege.
Originally, this lovely church belonged to the city’s Hungarian-speaking Protestant congregation. However, in 1673, it was handed over to the Catholics. The building has a Gothic style, and it largely resembles the St. James Church standing next to it. The Church of Saint Imre is located near the castle and the tower.
The Town House is not only beautiful but also bears a unique history. From the 14-15th century onward, city leaders held meetings and court hearings in this building. In addition, until 1848, part of the village’s wine was kept in the cellar, which they then measured to the residents on the spot.
Only a 20-minute walk from downtown, the lookout tower invites visitors to admire the city views. Another 10-minute from the tower, and the Kálvária Church emerges. Active travelers should check out the hiking trails, as they offer beautiful scenery of the neighbouring mountains.