coronavirus greece
Photo: MTI/EPA/ANA-MPA/Oresztisz Panajotu

As the coronavirus pandemic is coming to an end and the main season of tourism is approaching, more and more countries have started to lift restrictions on their borders. However, the conditions and dates may be different. The EU presented a list of guidelines and recommendations to help the Member States gradually lift travel restrictions. It would first allow free movement between countries with similar infection rates, but many countries prefer to ease restrictions based on mutual agreement.

Forbes has gathered the information available about travel conditions and restrictions.

June 15 is the target date for border openings in many countries.


Austria opened its borders to Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, and Hungary on June 5 (Italy remained the only neighbouring country from which Austria has not removed the entry ban). Visitors entering Austria from any other country must submit a medical certificate confirming a negative coronavirus test.


Croatia has decided to allow visitors to enter from 10 European countries with similar infection rates. As part of a mutual agreement, the country opened its borders to Czech, Hungarian, Austrian, Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Polish, German and Slovakian citizens on 29 May. Borders between Croatia and Slovenia were opened before.

Czech Republic

On May 26, the Czech Republic lifted most of the border controls at the border crossings with Germany and Austria. On June 5, travel restrictions between Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, and Slovakia were lifted, which implies that citizens of these countries do not have to present a negative coronavirus test when crossing the border.


Germany has also started to ease restrictions gradually. The borders between Austria, Germany, and Switzerland were opened on May 15. Border control between Germany and Luxembourg was abolished the same weekend (May 16 and 17). If the pandemic situation continues to improve, entry from other EU countries will be allowed from June 15.

travel, sight, trip malta
Read alsoMalta to lift most COVID-19 restrictions from Friday, reopen its airport for Hungary too


Greece is opening its borders in two steps: tourists from 29 countries (Albania, Australia, Austria, Northern Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Hungary, Romania, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, the Czech Republic, and Finland) can enter Greece for non-essential purposes from June 15, and from June 1, international flights to the Greek islands will be resumed.


On June 3, Italy opened its borders to tourists and is allowing arrivals with no quarantine requirements from the Schengen Area and European Union Member States. Italy also lifted restrictions on movement between regions. Some provinces introduced a smartphone app developed to monitor tourist contacts, but the software is used on a voluntary basis.


Poland decided to keep travel restrictions in place and extended border control until June 12. People from other countries may enter if they are family members of Polish citizens or have a residence or work permit.


Slovakia, Hungary, Austria, and the Czech Republic agreed to open the borders on June 5. Restrictions for entering Slovakia from other EU countries will remain in place until June 15.

Hungary travel plane
Read alsoThis is what travelling will look like after the pandemic


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.