The annual ceremony, held in a prestigious and iconic venue alongside the Danube river, the Vigado concert Hall, was also highlighted with the presence of VIP personalities, such as ANOC, OCA and Olympic Solidarity President Sheikh Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah, Mayor of Budapest and Head of the FINA World Championships 2017 Organising Committee Istvan Tarlos, Mayor of Windsor Drew Dilkens, Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General on Sport Development and Peace (UNOSDP) Wilfried Lemke, and influent Olympic writer Alan Abrahamson (last year’s winner of the FINA World Journalist Award).

In his opening speech, FINA President said: “The athletes deserve our deepest recognition ans appreciation for what they are doing to raise and consolidate the FINA image and the values of our sport.”

He added: “But behind each of them, we also pay a fair tribute to their coaches. Their role is essential and their devotion to their athletes and to the sport they love is a significant part of FINA’s success.”

In front of approximately 300 guests, including key sports leaders, National Federations’ representatives, and a wide range of local, national and international media, the following athletes received FINA’s recognition:

 Swimming Men Mitchell Larkin Australia
Women Katinka Hosszú Hungary
Best Swimming Performance Adam Peaty
Katie Ledecky
Great Britain
 Water Polo Men Serbia
Player: captain Zivko Gocic
Women USA
Player: captain Maggie Steffens
 Diving Men He Chao China
Women Shi Tingmao China
 Synchro Men Bill May
Aleksandr Maltsev
Women Svetlana Romashina RUS
 Open Water Men Jordan Willimovsky USA
Women Ana Marcela Cunha BRA
 High Diving Men Gary Hunt GBR
Women Rachelle Simpson

Photo: MTI