Select Page

FINA Aquatics 2017, 2nd day – Four different countries get the first four gold medals in Hungary

FINA Aquatics 2017, 2nd day – Four different countries get the first four gold medals in Hungary

Maddison Keeney of Australia triumphed in the women’s 1 m springboard diving event of the 17th World Aquatics Championships in Budapest on Saturday. Qian Ren and Junjie Lian of China won the mixed 10 m synchronised diving event. Marc-Antoine Olivier of France triumphed in the men’s 5 km open water swimming event of the 17th World Aquatics Championships in Balatonfüred, in western Hungary. Svetlana Kolesnichenko of Russia won the synchro swimming solo technical event.

Opening ceremony in Balatonfüred

The 17th FINA World Championship have officially started in Balatonfüred (Lake Balaton) as well. At the opening ceremony FINA President Julio César Maglione praised the accomplishment of organisers. The President expressed his gratitude for Viktor Orbán, Prime Minister of Hungary, István Bóka, the Mayor of host city, Balatonfüred and FINA’s Hungarian Vice-President Tamás Gyárfás in particular. According to Maglione, Balatonfüred will serve as a great and worthwhile venue for the open water swimming tournament.

In his speech István Bóka, Mayor of Balatonfüred emphasized, that the city has been committed to open water swimming since 2014 and there are long term plans. “All the facilities were completed in time, and the World Championships enhance the reputation of the city” said Bóka.

The opening ceremony featured a half-an-hour fashion show by famous Hungarian designer Kati Zoob. The collection was primarily inspired by the traditions of Anna Ball held in Balatonfüred every year.

Fina Aristic

Australian victory in women’s 1 m springboard diving

Maddison Keeney (AUS) became  the second world champion in this event  representing Australia after Irina Lashko (AUS) won in 2003.2003  was also the last time China failed to make it to the podium in this event. Chen Yiwen (CHN) finished fourth.Nadezhda Bazhina (RUS) claimed silver, the best Russian result in this event since Yulia Pakhalina (RUS) won the world title in 2009.With Elena Bertocchi  (ITA) claiming the bronze medal, Italy are the only country with at least one medal in this event in the last four editions (including 2017).


1. Maddison Keeney (AUS) 314.95 points

2. Nadezhda Bazhina (RUS) 304.70

3. Elena Bertocchi (ITA) 296.40

Chinese victory in mixed 10 m synchronised diving event


1. Qian Ren, Junjie Lian (CHN) 352.98 points

2. Matthew Lee, Lois Toulson (GBR) 323.28

3. Kim Mi Rae, Hyon Il Mong (PRK) 318.12

French victory in men’s 5 km open water swimming – Balatonfüred

Olivier had claimed bronze in the men’s 10km at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.Mario Sanzullo (ITA) took silver and gave Italy its 10th medal in the men’s 5km event at the World Championships. Only Germany has won more medals in this event (12).Timothy Shuttleworth (GBR) claimed the first bronze medal for Great Britain in open water swimming at the World Championships. Great Britain had already won gold (2) and silver (4) medals in open water events.Svetlana Kolesnichenko (RUS) won her 13th gold medal in synchro swimming at the World Championships, and her first in an individual event.Ona Carbonell (ESP) took silver to claim her 21st medal in synchro swimming at the World Championships. Only Russia’s Svetlana Romashina (RUS, 22) and Natalia Ishchenko (RUS, 22) have won more medals.Anna Voloshyna (UKR) claimed her fifth medal, all bronze. This was her first medal in the solo technical, after finishing fourth in this event in 2013 and 2015. Lian Junjie (CHN, 3 November 2000) became the first man born after 1 January 2000 to win a medal in diving at the world championships. His current diving partner Ren Qian (CHN, 20 February 2001) became the first woman born in this century to win a medal when she took silver in 10m platform women in 2015.Hyon II Myong (bronze) became the first man from DPR Korea to claim a world championship medal in diving.


1. Marc-Antoine Olivier (FRA) 54:31.40 min

2. Mario Sanzullo (ITA) 54:32.10

3. Timothy Shuttleworth (GBR) 54:42.10

7. Kristóf Rasovszky (HUN)

31. Márk Papp (HUN)

Men’s 5 km open water swimming – Balatonfüred, photo: MTI

Marc-Antoine Oliver, Mario Sanzullo and Timothy Shuttleworth , photo: MTI

Russian victory in synchro swimming solo technical event


1. Svetlana Kolesnichenko (RUS) 95.2036 points

2. Ona Carbonell (ESP) 93.6534

3. Anna Voloshyna (UKR) 91.9992

Photo: MTI

Russian victory in men’s 3 m springboard synchro diving


1. Ilia Zakharov, Yevgeni Kuznetsov (RUS) 450.30 points

2. Xie Siyi, Cao Yuan (CHN) 443.40

3. Oleg Kolodiy, Illya Kvasha (UKR) 429.99

Photo: MTI

Source: FINA/MTI

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.



Subscribe to our newsletter.


Pin It on Pinterest