Wine sparkling wine drink

The Decanter World Wine Awards 2018 (DWWA) is one of the biggest wine and champagne competitions in the world. It is a huge success that a Hungarian sparkling wine received a Platinum medal at this year’s event held in London, Szeretlekmagyarorszá reports. The winning sparkling wine is called Prestige Brut, and it is produced by Kreinbacher Birtok [Estate].

About the DWWA

More than 16,000 wines from 61 countries entered the DWWA this year. The wines are judged by the best judges in the world who are all certified experts coming from all over the world. Within the 275 experts, there are 59 Masters of Wine and 25 Master Sommeliers. It is a truly international event where each wine is given an enormous amount of consideration and thoughtfulness.

First, the wines are judged blind (they do not know the name or the producer) based on country, wine region, then colour and grape variety. Judges decide on the gold medals together, then all of the gold medal winners are tasted again to choose the bests of the bests: the platinum medal wines and champagnes.

Hungarian wine among the best in the world again!

The winner sparkling wine

Hungarian Kreinbacher Estate’s Prestige Brut sparkling wine got 97 points from the judges, qualifying it as the best within its category, receiving the platinum medal. Prestige Brut is made with traditional techniques, and it has two vine varieties: furmint and chardonnay. This is the second time that besides our wines, a sparkling wine has also managed to get a platinum medal at this world competition.

The Kreinbacher Estate was founded in Somló in 2002. The estate currently covers 43 hectares cultivated originally, and in addition to this, they also harvest grapes from another 20-30 hectares each year.

This is officially Hungary’s best red wine

Other Hungarian medals

Three other wines also received the platinum medal at the event:

  • Szent Tamás Pincészet – Mád late harvest (2016)
  • Sauska – Tokaji Aszú 6 Puttonyos (2013)
  • Figula – Köves (2016)

Altogether, the Tokaj wine region collected four gold medals, and the Somló wine region received one silver and one bronze medal.

Featured image:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.