Budapest, May 24 (MTI) – Parliament on Tuesday ratified in a unanimous vote of 160 lawmakers the international climate agreement reached in Paris last year.

The landmark agreement concluded last December was signed by representatives of 171 countries, including 60 heads of state and government, on April 22 at the UN’s headquarters in New York.

The document was signed on behalf of Hungary by President János Áder.

The agreement will enter into force once 55 countries representing at least 55 percent of global emissions of gases responsible for global warming have ratified it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.