Heathrow Airport UK
Photo: Facebook.com/HeathrowAirport

People travelling from Hungary to the United Kingdom are exempt from the mandatory 14-day quarantine from this day forward. The British government released a list of countries that are considered “reduced risk” from COVID-19, including Hungary.

BBC reports that the government released a list of countries that now pose ”a reduced risk” from the coronavirus; therefore, arrivals from these countries no longer need to quarantine themselves for 14 days.

Travellers still need to fill out a form about their previous travels beforehand, indicating where they have been in the last 14 days. The exemption is valid for those travellers only who, in the last 14 days, have not visited any country not listed by the British government.

Travellers are exempt from self-isolation in the UK if they arrive from the following countries:

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

BBC writes:

“The government has been advising against all but essential travel since March, but this advice has been lifted for destinations that no longer pose an unacceptably high risk for British travellers … You will still have to isolate for 14 days if you arrive back in the UK from Canada, the US and much of Central or South America. Countries in Africa, the Middle East and most of Asia are also excluded. Travellers from Sweden, Portugal, Russia and anywhere else not on the list will also have to quarantine.”

Travellers still have to isolate themselves if they had visited countries not included in the list above 14 days prior to their arrival, no matter which country they are coming from. In this case, people can come out of self-isolation when 14 days passed since they had left the country not included in the list.

border Hungary flag EU
Read alsoEU lifts travel restrictions for residents of these 15 countries

Source: www.bbc.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.