THE International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) today announced results of the International Selection Committee’s vote for the Class of 2014. Led by Australian swimmer Grant Hackett, this year’s class of 12, representing eight different nations, joins an elite group of over 700 aquatic legends from the Olympic aquatic sports of swimming, diving, synchronized swimming and water polo who have been enshrined in the Hall of Fame since 1965. The class of 2014 will be formally enshrined on a date and location that will be announced in the coming weeks, Swimming World Magazine reports.

Swimming World Magazine said, the Class of 2014 includes swimmers Agnes Kovacs (HUN), Grant Hackett (AUS) and Tom Malchow (USA); Diver Peng Bo (CHN); Synchronized Swimmers Penny and Vicky Vilagos (CAN); Water Polo Players Carlo Silipo (ITA) and Karen Kuipers (NED); Coaches Charlotte Davis (USA) and Jozsef Nagy (HUN, USA, CAN, SPN); Norman Sarsfield (GBR) will be enshrined posthumously in the Contributor category, and Bruce S. Hopping (USA) will be honored as a Pioneer.

Swimming World Magazine underlined, Hungarian swimmer Agnes Kovacs, a great breaststroke swimmer who won a silver medal in the 200m breaststroke at the 1996 Olympic Games before winning the gold medal in the same event in 2000, at the Sydney Olympic Games.

Read more HERE.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.