Hungary national team head coach Georges Leekens has recalled a number of experienced players to his extended squad for the upcoming friendly matches against Kazakhstan and Scotland, a squad which also sees a first call-up for Ferencváros central defender Kenneth Otigba.

This extended squad of 37 players sees the return of a number of players who have been previously been part of the national team squad. Zsombor Berecz, Endre Botka, Ádám Gyurcsó, Szilveszter Hangya, Patrik Hidi, Zsolt Kalmár and Bálint Vécsei are all in the provisional squad which will be reduced in size on 16 March.

Head coach Leekens, speaking after the squad announcement, commented that: “I’ve decided to name an extended provisional squad as we have to send our player requests to the players’ club sides fifteen days before first match and we’re not yet sure which ones will permit their players to join up with us. It also gives us the opportunity to make late changes should any players suffer injury in the meantime.

It’s also important that it’s a new year, which offers a fresh start for all the players. The coaching staff will be constantly monitoring the members of the squad and we consciously picked players with a healthy competition for places in mind.

I believe the largest surprise on the list will be the appearance of Kenneth Otigba’s name. I contacted him and we spoke about whether he’d give his all to play in the Hungary national team, he answered a definitive ‘yes’. I believe he can be of great use to the team, just as I do every single other player in the extended squad can be”.

The members of the final squad will arrive in Telki on the evening of 18 March before taking on Kazakhstan on the 23rd and then Scotland on the 27th of March at the Groupama Aréna.

Hungary squad (first names first)


Péter Gulácsi (RB Leipzig)
Dénes Dibusz (Ferencváros)
Dávid Gróf (Budapest Honvéd)
Ádám Kovácsik (Videoton FC)


Barnabás Bese (Le Havre)
Endre Botka (Ferencváros)
Gergő Lovrencsics (Ferencváros)
Attila Fiola (Videoton FC)
Richárd Guzmics (Yanbian Funde)
Zsolt Korcsmár (FC Midtjylland)
Ádám Lang (AS Nancy Lorraine)
Kenneth Otigba (Ferencváros)
Paulo Vinícius (Videoton FC)
Tamás Kádár (Dynamo Kyiv)
János Szabó (Paksi FC)
Szilveszter Hangya (Vasas FC)


Ádám Nagy (Bologna FC 1909)
Ákos Elek (Kairat Almaty)
Máté Pátkai (Videoton FC)
Ádám Pintér (Greuther Fürth)
József Varga (Videoton FC)
László Kleinheisler (Astana FK)
Kalmár Zsolt (DAC)
Bálint Vécsei (FC Lugano)
Dániel Nagy (Újpest FC)
Patrik Hidi (Real Oviedo CF)
Zsombor Berecz (Vasas FC)


Roland Varga (Ferencváros)
Krisztián Németh (New England Revolution)
Ádám Gyurcsó (Hajduk Split)
Zoltán Stieber (DC United)
Balázs Dzsudzsák (al-Wahda)
Ádám Szalai (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim)
Nemanja Nikolić (Chicago Fire)
Dániel Böde (Ferencváros)
Márton Eppel (Budapest Honvéd)
Roland Ugrai (DVTK)

As we wrote before, the president of the Hungarian Football Federation, Sándor Csányi has just received a new international title: he has become the vice president of FIFA to replace the former official Ángel María Villar. Read more HERE.


Source: MLSZ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.