Photo by Giorgio Scala/Deepbluemedia

According to FINA, Cameron van der Burgh (RSA) and Katinka Hosszu (HUN) were the overall winners of the 2015 FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup, whose eighth and final leg concluded on November 7 in Dubai (UAE). In the superb scenario of the Hamdan Sports Complex, the two best athletes of the series were given their giant US$ 100,000 cheque corresponding to their victory by FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione.

Among men, Van der Burgh, already winner of the series in 2008 and 2009 finished with 369 points, after collecting 15 gold medals throughout the series – seven gold in the 50m breast and eight wins in the 100m breast, completing a clean sweep in these two events. Chad Le Clos, also from South Africa and winner in 2014, was this time the second best of the circuit, with 180 points. He was closely followed by the winner of the third cluster of the series, Australia’s Mitch Larkin (174 points).

In the women’s field, Hosszu has once more proved her versatility in the pool, completing the season with 30 gold medals, for a total of 152 victories since she consecutively won the World Cup from 2012 onwards. She concluded the 2015 circuit with 669 points, ahead of Emily Seebohm (AUS, 441) and her Zsuzsanna Jakabos, also from Hungary (201 points).

Both for men and women, the prize money distribution for the first three ranked of the overall ranking of US$ 100,000 for the first, US$ 50,000 for the second and US$ 30,000 for the third.

Before this consecration, the quality of the races in the second day of the Dubai competition was remarkable. In the first race of the day, the women’s 100m free, the fastest qualifiers were Hosszu and Federica Pellegrini (ITA), but the duel throughout the race ended up being between the Hungarian and Melanie Wright (AUS). At the end, the Australian got the gold in 53.79 (against Hosszu’s 53.81), thus revalidating the title of the previous leg of the series, in Doha (QAT). Wright was also the winner of the 50m free on Day 1. For Hosszu, it was the fifth medal in Dubai after two gold and two silver in the first finals’ session at the Hamdan Sports Complex…


1. Cameron van der Burgh (RSA), 369 points – US$ 100,000
2. Chad Le Clos (RSA), 180 pts – US$ 50,000
3. Mitch Larkin (AUS), 174 pts – US$ 30,000

1. Katinka Hosszu (HUN), 669 points – US$ 100,000
2. Emily Seebohm (AUS), 441 pts – US$ 50,000
3. Zsuzsanna Jakabos (HUN), 201 pts – US $ 30,000

Photo: Photo by Giorgio Scala/Deepbluemedia – FINA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.