orbán hungary
Photo: MTI

Party leader Viktor Orbán, the prime minister, tops the national list of the allied ruling Fidesz-Christian Democrat (KDNP) alliance for the April 8 parliamentary election, according to the list released on Wednesday evening.

Orbán is followed by Zsolt Semjén, the leader of the Christian Democrats and deputy prime minister.

Third on the 279-member list is House Speaker László Kövér, followed by Fidesz deputy leader Katalin Novák, Economy Minister Mihály Varga, Fidesz’s deputy leader and parliamentary group leader Gergely Gulyás, as well as Fidesz deputy leaders Gábor Kubatov and Szilárd Németh, Human Resources Minister Zoltán Balog and KDNP group leader Péter Harrach.

Candidates listed from the 11th place on include the leaders of organisations working in alliance with Fidesz: Sándor Lezsák, István Jakab, Balázs Győrffy, Béla Turi-Kovács, Kristóf Szatmáry, László Böröcz and Florián Farkas.

Next on the list is Márta Mátrai, First Officer of the National Assembly, placed 18th, followed by Zsolt Németh, the chairman of parliament’s foreign affairs committee.

The list ranks parliamentary state secretary János Főnagy 21st and Deputy House Speaker János Latorcai 22nd.

They are followed by Government Office Chief János Lázár, Urban Development Minister Lajos Kósa, Foreign Minister Péter Szijjártó, Cabinet Office Chief Antal Rogán, Farm Minister Sándor Fazekas, Defence Minister István Simicskó, National Development Minister Miklós Seszták as well as János Süli, minister in charge of the Paks nuclear plant upgrade project.

Hungarian voters are to elect a 199-member parliament on April 8. Fully 106 lawmakers will be elected in individual constituencies, and 93 on national lists.

featured image: MTI

Source: MTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.