Select Page

Péter Eötvös awarded Goethe Medal

Péter Eötvös awarded Goethe Medal

Hungarian composer and conductor Péter Eötvös received the Goethe Medal, a German state decoration for non-Germans promoting cultural dialogue, in Weimar, in central Germany, on Wednesday.

The jury honoured Eötvös’s work addressing existential issues in music, the composer’s foundation said in a statement.

Born in 1944 in Transylvania, Eötvös has established a reputation as one of the most successful contemporary composers. His works include the operas Lady Sarashina and Senza Sangue.

The Goethe Medal is awarded annually on the anniversary of Goethe’s birth to three individuals or groups using artistic means to promote empathy and tolerance.

This year, Swiss-Brazilian photographer Claudia Andujar and the Colombian Mapa Teatro were also decorated.

Hungarian prize holders from previous years include writer Imre Kertész, poet Dezső Tandori and philosopher Ágnes Heller.

Source: MTI

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.



Subscribe to our newsletter.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :

Pin It on Pinterest