Hungary’s countdown to Euro 2016 started in earnest today with their first training session at Telki under the stewardship of head coach Bernd Storck who named his 30-man provisional squad last Thursday.

Four goalkeepers have been named in the squad with Liverpool keeper Ádám Bogdán a notable absentee while Under 21 players Gergő Kocsis and Barnabás Bese are selected amongst the eleven defenders. Their Under 21 teammates Roland Sallai and Máté Vida feature in the six-man stable of midfielders and there is plenty of competition amongst the nine forwards selected, a list which includes injured trio Balázs Dzsudzsák, Krisztián Németh and Tamás Priskin, all of whom hope to be fit in time for Hungary’s first match against Austria in Bordeaux on 14th June.

Bernd Storck, Hungary head coach:

“The countdown has started and it’s not just the staff but also the players who are excitedly waiting for the group work to start – everyone is very happy that the national squad can be together again. There are not many surprises in the squad – we are preparing for the first period of the work in May with the provisional squad so youngsters also get an opportunity to show their talent. We have a few small difficulties in that for the time being Tamás Priskin and Krisztián Németh are injured and that the German league’s play-offs mean that Zoltán Stieber and László Kleinheisler will be missing until the second part of the training camp. It is to be hoped that we can count on every player being in good physical condition in Austria and the team can avoid further injuries during the course of the preparations”.

Hungary’s provisional Euro 2016 squad:


Gábor Király (Swietelsky-Haladás)
Dénes Dibusz (Ferencváros)
Péter Gulácsi (RB Leipzig)
Balázs Megyeri (Getafe)


Attila Fiola (Puskás Akadémia)
Gergő Lovrencsics (Lech Poznan)
Barnabás Bese (MTK Budapest)
Richárd Guzmics (Wisla Kraków)
Roland Juhász (Videoton FC)
Gergő Kocsis (Puskás Akadémia)
Ádám Lang (Videoton FC)
Ádám Pintér (Ferencváros)
Zsolt Korcsmár (Vasas)
Tamás Kádár (Lech Poznan)
Mihály Korhut (DVSC-Teva)


Ákos Elek (DVTK)
Zoltán Gera (Ferencváros)
Ádám Nagy (Ferencváros)
Máté Vida (Vasas)
László Kleinheisler (Werder Bremen)
Roland Sallai (Puskás Akadémia)


Balázs Dzsudzsák (Bursaspor)
Zoltán Stieber (Nürnberg)
Ádám Gyurcsó (Pogon Szczecin)
Ádám Szalai (Hannover)
Krisztián Németh (Al-Gharafa)
Nemanja Nikolic (Legia Warszawa)
Tamás Priskin (Slovan Bratislava)
Dániel Böde (Ferencváros)
László Lencse (Újpest FC)

Photo: MTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.