According to, FIFA has announced the ten nominees for the 2016 Puskás Award. The scorer of the most beautiful goal will be awarded in Zürich on the 9th on January. Until then, you can vote for your favourite goals online.

The Puskás Award was founded in 2009 by FIFA in honour of the iconic Hungarian football player, Ferenc Puskás. Every year, the award is given to the player who scored the most beautiful goal in the previous season. The latest winners of the award were Cristiano Ronaldo (2009), Hamit Altintop (2010), Neymar (2011), Miroslav Stoch (2012), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2013), James Rodríguez (2014) and Wendell Lira (2015).

The ten nominees:

Mario Gaspar (Spanish) – 13 November 2015, Spain – England, international friendly match

Hlompho Kekana (South African) – 26 March 2016, Cameroon – Republic of South Africa, Africa Cup, qualifier

Marlone (Brazilian) – 21 April 2016, Corinthians – Cobresal, Libertadores Cup

Lionel Messi (Argetinaian) – 21 June 2016, USA – Argentina, Copa América, semi-final

Neymar (Brazilian) – 8 November 2015, Barcelona – Villarreal, Spanish League

Saúl Níguez (Spanish) – 27 April 2016, Atlético Madrid – Bayern München, Champions’ League, semi-final

Hal Robson-Kanu (Welsh) – 1 July 2016, Wales – Belgium, Euro2016, quarter-final

Daniuska Rodríguez (Venezuelan) – 14 March 2016, Venezuela – Colombia, South American U17 Women’s Championship

Simon Skrabb (Finnish) – 31 October 2015, Gefle – Atvidaberg, Swedish League

Mohd Faiz Subri (Malaysian) – 16 February 2016, Penang – Pahang, Malaysian League


Copy editor: bm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.